

December 21, 2012

The Honorable Andrew Cuomo Governor of New York State New York State Capitol Building Albany, NY 12224

Mr. Joseph Martens, Commissioner New York State Department of Environmental Conservation 625 Broadway Albany, NY12233-1010

Request to Extend Comment Period for Fracking Regulations to 90 Days

Dear Governor Cuomo and Commissioner Martens:

We, the undersigned local elected officials in New York State, on behalf of over 550 members of Elected Officials to Protect New York, request an extension of the 30-day comment period on the above referenced revised regulations on high-volume hydraulic fracturing to a minimum of 90 days. The 30-day comment period does not allow sufficient time for local governments to adequately review the revised regulations.

While these revised rules are designed in part to protect local governments from the impacts of fracking, the monthly meeting schedule of most local governments, operating under the Open Meetings Law, means that most local governments will be unable to respond at all to these critical regulations. Many municipalities do not even meet between now and January 11. Such a short comment period, especially during a period of major religious and national holidays, is inadequate for any reasonable public review of such extensive regulations.

This request is about good government. Local governments will have to govern under whatever fracking regulation the State eventually issues if fracking is allowed. For its local government partners, New York State must allow at least a 90-day comment period so that local governments can participate.

Therefore, we request that the NYSDEC <u>extend the public comment period on the revised</u> regulations to a minimum of 90 days and, as per our attached letter previously sent on December 3, the health review be made public and opened for public participation.

We appreciate the opportunity to meet with Commissioner Martens on November 13. However, we reiterate our request to meet directly with you, Governor Cuomo. Many new serious concerns about fracking have emerged since we first wrote to you on June 4. We know you have met with industry representatives; it is time that we, local elected officials, bring the people's voice to the Second Floor.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely, on behalf of more than 550 Elected Officials to Protect New York,

Bob Aiello Legislator Ulster County

Kathie Arnold Legislator Cortland County

Don Barber *Supervisor* Town of Caroline Tompkins County

Penny J. Beebe *Trustee* Village of Freeville Tompkins County

Debra Brock *Councilmember* Town of Preble Cortland County

Doug Bullock Legislator Albany County

Will Burbank Legislator Tompkins County

Dominick Calsolaro *Councilmember* City of Albany Albany County

Carl Chipman Supervisor Town of Rochester Ulster County Fred Culbert Councilmember Town of Springfield Otsego County

James Dean Trustee Village of Cooperstown Otsego County

Jim Dennis Legislator Tompkins County

Tom Dolan *Councilmember* Town of Coeymans Albany County

Dave Edwards Councilmember Town of Middlefield Otsego County

Herbert J. Engman Supervisor Town of Ithaca Tompkins County

Dominic Frongillo Deputy Supervisor Town of Caroline Tompkins County

Jim Goldstein Supervisor Town of Lebanon Madison County

Bill Hanauer *Mayor* Village of Ossining Westchester County Julie Huntsman Councilmember Town of Otsego Otsego County

Dan Klein Deputy Supervisor Town of Danby Tompkins County

Deborah S. Kliman *Trustee* Village of Hamitlon Madison County

Michael J. Kolczynski Supervisor Town of Savannah Wayne County

Gary Koutnik Representative Otsego County

Lorena Lenard Councilmember Town of Sangerfield Oneida County

Roxanne Marino *Supervisor* Town of Ulysses Tompkins County

William W. Moehle Supervisor Town of Brighton Monroe County

Mary Beth Murphy Supervisor Town of Somers Westchester County Nicole S. O'Connell-Avery *Trustee* Village of Spencer Tioga County

Marty Petrovic Mayor Village of Trumansburg Tompkins County

Viriginia Rasmussen Trustee Village of Alfred Allegany County Martha Robertson Legislature Chair Tompkins County

Jane Russell Supervisor Town of Pulteney Steuben County

John J. Salka Supervisor Town of Brookfield Madison County **Elizabeth Weberg** *Deputy Mayor* East Aurora Erie County

Jay Wenk Councilmember Town of Woodstock Ulster County

Christopher K. Werner *Councilmember* Town of Brighton Monroe County

Susan Zimet

Supervisor Town of New Paltz Ulster County